Future 

  
As a mother I believe now how it is hard to see your kids grow up. Lately our household has turned into an episode of Supernanny. If any of you have seen that show then you know how chaotic those families are and one main reason one would watch that show is to feel a bit better about their own parenting skills.

I am now forced to look at the big D word… Discipline. Let me just state one thing. It breaks your heart into millions of pieces when your kid is crying hysterically even if it is over spilled milk. (Yes that has happened this week) It is also very hard to have your kid be in time out and your whole plan of going out ruined because of a meltdown. Yes, now I know why parent do not want to discipline and just walk away from situations and ignore tantrums. 

Talking with other moms and reading a bunch of parenting books all of which say completely different things I am forced to look into the future and ask myself the questions I thought I never would. What is the right thing to do with meltdowns? Time out vs spanking? What are biggies and what are smallies with tantrums?

It seems now more than ever I do not know what to do in parenting. Have I ever? Maybe not. For now my husband and I will just act as if we do know what we are doing and drink our beer at the end of the day.

Leave a Reply

