NY bday

   
   
As we walk toward the train station we know it’s going to be a hard day but worth it cause it’s our sons 2nd bday.

He loves trains so we ride one to grand central station so his choo choo is a reality. We get to the city and have to deal with a toddler potty meltdown right in the middle of grand central. Yes we were those parents trying to calm him down when in reality he wasn’t going to. My husband and I look at each other and already want to go back home. 

We push through, get to Bryant Park and look at the ice skaters for a while and eat lunch. Nap time is coming up and the city is too busy for my son to fall asleep in the stroller so we head to the library for an attempt to put him on the potty again. 

Fail. He has a thing about going in public. At this point my son just crashes. “When he wakes up I’m just going to make him go,” says my husband. Right.

At least he’s asleep and so is our 4 month old so horrraayyy we get a quiet moment as parents at the library! We go towards the photography section and get a well deserved parent break and feel like normal people.

The beast wakes up, potty break a success. We head out to find our son a bday cupcake. We find Magnolia Bakery next to Rockefeller plaza. But wait we don’t have a candle! 

We get a cake and pie “do you have candles?” I ask. “Yes but we are out right now.” How does that happen?! Only in NY a bakery runs out of candles.

We get a candle from a pharmacy we find. Head back to Bryant Park. Sing a happy birthday song and my son blows out the candles. But wait they relight! We accidentally got trick candles! 

We are ready to head back home. Get to grand central and deal with yet another potty meltdown in a stall this time with people yelling outside at a lady that’s taking too long in the handicap stall. 

Alright all over we get our tickets and I loose my husband in the middle of grand central station in the middle of 5pm rush and my phone has no service. I figured as long as I stood there in the same place he is bound to come back.

Husband comes back we are on the train at last and start going home. Conductor comes by to check tickets. And what do you think could top this day off? A lost ticket. Yep we lost my ticket for the train. 

Thankfully the conductor never comes back to check my ticket again and we don’t get kicked off the train in the middle of Harlem at night. 

As we walk back home from the train station my husband and I look at each other and say “yes this was a hard day and he probably would have been happy just riding his new bike.” 

Yes true but he could do that every day at least he got to spend his 2nd bday in NY city. Maybe it was more for the parents since he will not remember this day. But it was worth it. There is always pictures to remind him.

Leave a Reply

